| 2014-07-01 | 0 Comments

British racer Katherine Legge has become the first female driver to race in the new all-electric FIA Formula E Championship after signing for the newly rebranded Amlin Aguri Formula E team. The 33-year-old former Champ Car racer becomes the first of the team’s two drivers to be announced which has since changed its name from Super Aguri following a new sponsorship deal with leading independent insurance company Amlin.

Formula_E_1After rising through the junior single-seater ranks, in 2005 Legge competed in the Toyota Atlantic Championship winning the series opener at Long Beach and ending the season third overall. Later that year she made history by becoming the first woman to test a Formula 1 car since Sarah Fisher (2002) with Minardi. The following year she signed to drive in the 2006 Champ Car season and became the first woman to lead a lap in the series’ history. After a second year she switched to the DTM series enjoying seasons with Futurecom TME and Abt Sportsline. In 2012, Legge moved to the States to make her IndyCar debut, remaining in the US for a second season although this time competing in the American Le Mans Series.

Formula_E_2Venturi has alos announced its drivers for the inaugural season of the new FIA Formula E Championship. The duo of Nick Heidfeld and Stéphane Sarrazin will represent Venturi when they line-up on the grid at the start of the world’s first fully-electric racing series in Beijing on September 13 2014. Neither Heidfeld nor Sarrazin are strangers to the international racing scene, having both competed in various forms of motorsport including Formula 1, WRC and Le Mans.

Tags: , , ,